Genome 10K Council Members Appointees and terms

Governing Council and TERMS


  • Erich Jarvis  Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator; Associate Professor of Neurobiology, School of Medicine, Duke University, Durham, North Carolina, USA
    2 years


  • Klaus-Peter Koepfli  Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute, Washington, DC, USA
    2 years


  • Stephen J. O’Brien  Chief Scientific Officer, Theodosius Dobzhansky Center for Genome Bioinformatics, St. Petersburg State University, Russia; Laboratory of Genomic Diversity (retired), NCI-Frederick, USA
    2 years

Council Appointees and Terms

(alphabetical; elections for 2-3 year terms, renewable)

  • Federica Di Palma  Director of Science (Vertebrate and Health Genomics), The Genome Analysis Center, Norwich, UK
    2 years
  • Richard Durbin  Senior Group Leader, Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Cambridge, UK
    2 years
  • Tom Gilbert  Professor, Centre for GeoGenetics, Natural History Museum of Denmark, Copenhagen, Denmark
    2 years
  • Harris Lewin  Distinguished Professor of Evolution and Ecology, Robert and Rosabel Osborne Endowed Chair, UC Davis, USA
    3 years
  • Tomàs Marquès-Bonet  Coordinator of Genomes and Systems, Universitat Pompeu Fabra; Head of Comparative Genomics, Institute of Evolutionary Biology(CSIC/UPF), Barcelona, Spain
    2 years
  • Robert Murphy  Senior Curator in the Centre for Biodiversity and Conservation Biology, Department of Natural History at the Royal Ontario Museum; Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology at the University of Toronto and the Chinese Academy of Sciences
    2 years
  • Gene Myers  Founding Director, Systems Biology Group,Max-Planck Institute of Molecular Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany
    2 years
  • Beth Shapiro  Associate Professor, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, UC Santa Cruz; Associate Director of Evolutionary Genomics, UC Santa Cruz Genomics Institute, California, USA
    3 years
  • Emma Teeling  Director, Centre for Irish Bat Research; Associate Professor, School of Biology & Environmental Science, University College Dublin, Ireland
    3 years
  • Byrappa Venkatesh  Professor and Research Director, IMCB; Adjunct Professor, Department of Pediatrics, National University of Singapore, Singapore
    2 years
  • Tandy Warnow  Founder Professor, Bioengineering and Computer Science, University of Illinois, USA
    2 years
  • Guojie Zhang  Assistant Professor, Ecology and Evolution, University of Copenhagen, Denmark
    2 years


(ex officio, non-voting, no term)

Founding “amigos” will serve as initial honorary G10K trustees:

Working Committees

Sample collections of taxonomic groups

  • Mammals: Oliver Ryder, Warren Johnson, Emma Teeling
  • Fish: Byrappa Venkatesh, Richard Durbin
  • Birds: Erich Jarvis, Guojie Zhang, Tom Gilbert, Gary Graves
  • Amphibians: Andrew Crawford
  • Reptiles: Robert Murphy 

Science and administration

  • Genome sequencing: Olivier Fedrigo (Richard Durbin, Frederica Di-Palma, Elinor Karlsson, Kerstin Lindblad-Toh, Guojie Zhang)
  • Genome assembly: Adam Phillippy (Richard Durbin, Erich Jarvis, Sergey Koren, Harris Lewin, Gene Myers)
  • Genome alignment and annotation: Benedict Paten (David Haussler, Tandy Warnow)
  • Phylogenetics: Tandy Warnow (Tom Gilbert, Erich Jarvis, Guojie Zhang)
  • Comparative genomics: Guojie Zhang (Rebecca Johnson, Harris Lewin, Heebal Kim, Thomas Marques)
  • Informatics: Bent Petterson (Benedict Paten, Eric Lyons, Adam Phillippy, Guojie Zhang)
  • Fund raising: Beth Shapiro (Erich Jarvis)
  • Annual meeting organization: Federica Di-Palma (Klaus Peter Koepfli) 

Steering Commitee

  • Jessica Alfoldi  Research scientist, Genome Sequencing and Analysis Program,  Broad Institute, Boston, MA, USA
  • Jenny Graves  Distinguished Professor, Professor Emeritus, ANU; Thinker-in-Residence, University of Canberra; Professorial Fellow, University of Melbourne, Australia
  • David Haussler  Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator; Scientific Director, UC Santa Cruz Genomics Institute; Professor of Biomolecular Engineering, UC Santa Cruz, USA
  • Warren E. Johnson  Smithsonian Institute, Wahsington, DC
  • Jun Wang former Director, BGI, China
  • Ian Korf  Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology, UC Davis, USA
  • Jose Lopez  Professor, NOVA Southeastern University, Ft. Lauderdale, FL, USA
  • Benedict Paten  Director of Comparative Genomics, UC Santa Cruz Genomics Institute, California, USA
  • Oliver A. Ryder  Director of Genetics, Kleberg Chair, San Diego Zoo Institute for Conservation Research; Adjunct Professor, Division of Biology, UC San Diego, California, USA